Shiwen Mao received his Bachelor's and Master's degrees, both in Electronic Engineering, from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China in 1994 and 1997, respectively. He also received a Bachelor's degree in Business Management from Tsinghua University in 1994 and a Master's degree in Systems Engineering from Polytechnic University (now NYU Tandon School of Engineering), Brooklyn, NY, in 2000. He received a Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Polytechnic University in 2004.

He was a Research Staff Member with the IBM China Research Lab from 1997 to 1998. From 2003 to 2006, he was a Postdoctoral Research Associate and then a Research Scientist in the Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), Blacksburg, VA. He joined Auburn University, Auburn, AL as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2006. Currently, he is the Samuel Ginn Endowed Professor and Director of the Wireless Engineering Research and Education Center (WEREC).

Dr. Mao's research interests include wireless networks and multimedia communications, with past and current projects on 5G wireless, indoor localization and RF sensing, and smart grid. He was a Distinguished Lecturer ( 2014-2018) and a Distinguished Speaker (2018-2021) of IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. He was a co-recipient of the 2017 IEEE ComSoc MMTC Best Conference Paper Award, IEEE SECON 2017 Best Demo Award, Best Paper Awards from IEEE GLOBECOM 2016, IEEE GLOBECOM 2015, IEEE WCNC 2015, and IEEE ICC 2013, and the 2004 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize in the Field of Communications Systems. His students also received the Best Student Paper Award from IEEE PIMRC 2017. He received the Auburn University Creative Research & Scholarship Award in 2018 and NSF CAREER Award in 2010, as well as the 2017 IEEE ComSoc ITC Outstanding Service Award, the 2015 IEEE ComSoc TC-CSR Distinguished Service Award, and the 2013 IEEE ComSoc MMTC Outstanding Leadership Award. He is on the editorial board of IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, IEEE Internet of Things Journal, IEEE Multimedia, ACM GetMobile, among others. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a member of the ACM, and a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu.