He has been the director of Sustainable Energy and Vehicle Engineering Program in the Department of Electrical Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, since 1981. He is the author or coauthor of more than 300 publications in power systems, pulsed power supplies, high-voltage engineering, power electronics and motor drives, and automotive power and propulsion systems. He is the coauthor of several books on power electronics, motor drives, vehicle power and propulsion systems, and a Contributor to an IEEE Guide for Self-Commutated Converters in 1990, as well as many monographs. He holds more than 20 U.S. and EC patents. Dr. Ehsani is a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers. He is a Registered Professional Engineer in the State of Texas. He was the recipient of the Prize Paper Awards in static power converters and motor drives at the IEEE-Industry Applications Society in 1985, 1987, and 1992 Annual Meetings, the James R. Evan Avant Garde Award from the IEEE Vehicle Technology Society in 2001, and the IEEE Field Award in Undergraduate Teaching in 2003. He was named the Halliburton Professor in the College of Engineering, Texas A&M University, in 1992, the Dresser Industries Professor in 1994, the Dow Chemical Faculty Fellow of the College of Engineering, Texas A&M University in 2001, where he received and became the holder of the Robert M. Kennedy Endowed Chair of Engineering in 2004.