He was a Tenured Professor with the School of Engineering Science, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, Canada. Since 2007, he has been a SKKU-Fellowship Professor with the College of Information & Communication Engineering, Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU), Suwon, South Korea. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea. He is an Executive Chair for the IEEE ICC 2022 in Seoul. He has been a first recipient of the NRF of Korea Engineering Research Center (ERC) in Wireless Communications for RF Energy Harvesting since 2014. From 2001 to 2019, he served as an Editor and an Editor-at-Large of Wireless Communication I for the IEEE Transactions on Communications. From 2002 to 2011, he also served as an Editor and a Founding Area Editor of Cross-Layer Design and Optimization for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications. From 2008 to 2011, he was the Co-Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE/KICS Journal of Communications and Networks. He served as the Founding Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, from 2012 to 2015. He has been selected the 2019 recipient of the IEEE Communications Society Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications.